What are the Key Stages


What are the Key Stages?

The National Circulation for school age children is set out in 5 stages; for example Key Stage 1 is taught during Years 1 and 2 of primary school. There are defined targets in the National Curriculum which are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.

EYFS Ages 3-5 Preschool and Reception
Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
Key Stage 3 Ages 11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 Ages 14-16 Years 10 and 11

 Insect House is inspired learning for all. Here’s where we can help:

 EYFS Knowledge and Understanding of the World

  • Investigate objects and materials using senses
  • Find out about, and identify, some features of living things, objects and events

 KS1 Science

  • Living things in the local environment
  • Variation observab similarities and differences

KS2 Science

  • Habitats
  • Life cycles
  • Interdependence and adaptation

KS3 Science

  • Environment and feeding relationships
  • Variation and classification
  • Ecological relationships
  • Plants for food

 Explore Insect House:

  • Activity, Behaviour and Progression: To encourage an interest in and respect for the environment and living things
  •  Knowledge and understanding: To deepen understanding of how creatures are adapted to their habitat
  •  Skills: To develop skills of scientific inquiry and investigation